Zoom

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    mary reape
    Keymaster

I’ve used zoom a few times so happy to help people download and once downloaded i can arrange a meeting with them so they can have a little play.
    Mary

John Barnard
    Participant

Mary and I had a successful test of the Zoom system last night, so I’m also now available to assist with people who want to try it out. I will be arranging a brief test with a few people from the Evening Climbing WhatsApp Group at 2130 this evening (Fri). I’m still a bit of a beginner at this, but I hope the following will be useful.

In order to use Zoom you need to download some software and install it on your computer or smartphone. So far as I can tell, you do not need to “register” on the Zoom system unless you want to be able to organise and “host” a meeting. I have installed the software on both my Windows 10 laptop, and on my Android smartphone. I assume that the process will be similar for Macs and iPhones by I have no experience with them.

You do not need a camera on your system (either built in or separate) but if you don’t have one, you will not be visible to others (though you will be able to see other people).

In order to join a meeting, someone (who is registered on the Zoom system) has to set up the meeting, and send an internet link to those people he (or she) wants to join the meeting. Clicking on this link will prompt you to download and install the software if you haven’t already done so, but it may be helpful to have installed it in advance.

For Windows computers it can be downloaded from https://zoom.us/download#client_4meeting (choose “Zoom Client for Meetings”. For Andoid phone users you can find it in the PlayStore.